Giuliano Bracci

Guiliano BRACCI
Started in: 2015
Musician type: composer
University: Leiden University
Personal website:
Nationality: Italy

Giuliano Bracci is an Italian composer. After a degree in philosophy at La Sapienza University in Rome he studied composition with Rosario Mirigliano and Richard Ayres at Florence and Amsterdam Conservatories. He is currently working on a doctorate at Leiden University and Orpheus Institute Gent.

He has composed works for ensembles such as New European Ensemble, Ensemble Klang, Silbersee, Nieuw Ensemble, de Ereprijs, L’arsenale, Quartetto Maurice, Freon, Het Gelders Orkest, and for soloists such as Anna voor de Wind, Emanuele Torquati, Sebastiaan Kemner, Cora Schmeiser and Fanny Alofs.

Giuliano collaborated with the theatre company Compagnia Pippo Delbono and the dancer and choreographer Suzan Tunca.

In 2018 he won the Concorso Evangelisti - Nuova Consonanza for his composition “Assetata ancora”. His orchestral piece “Da uno spazio bianco” received an honourable mention at the Gaudeamus Prize 2010, and in 2011 he was finalist of the Premio Reina Sofia Madrid with “Non sei di quelli che si incantano al paesaggio” for choir and orchestra.

His music is regularly performed in the Netherlands and throughout Europe, in North and South America and it is published by Babel Scores, Donemus and Ars Publica. He has taught at the Italian Conservatories of Potenza and La Spezia.


Transcribing: Between Listening, Memory and Invention.

Started in 2015

Giuliano's research concerns the practice of transcribing – i.e. rewriting musical works from the past – in the context of contemporary music today.

News & Events